Past Seasons‎ > ‎

50 You Can't Take It With You

You Can't Take It With You

You Can't Take It With You has been delighting audiences since 1936. Written by 
George S. Kaufman and Moss Hart, this Pulitzer Prize winning comedy celebrates non-conformity.
At first the Sycamores seem mad, but it is not long before we realize that if they are mad, the rest of the world is madder. In contrast to these delightful people are the unhappy Kirbys. 

Tony, the attractive young son of the Kirbys, falls in love with Alice Sycamore and brings his parents to dine at the Sycamore home on the wrong evening. The shock sustained by the Kirbys, who are invited to eat cheap food, shows Alice that marriage with Tony is out of the question. The Sycamores, however, though sympathetic to Alice, find it hard to realize her point of view. Meantime, Tony, who knows the Sycamores are right and his own people wrong, will not give her up, and in the end Mr. Kirby is converted to the happy madness of the Sycamores, particularly since he happens in during a visit by an ex-Grand Duchess, earning her living as a waitress. No mention has as yet been made of the strange activities of certain members of the household engaged in the manufacture of fireworks; nor of the printing press set up in the parlor; nor of Rheba the maid and her friend Donald; nor of Grandpa's interview with the tax collector when he tells him he doesn't believe in the income tax.

Cast:                                                                                     Staff:
Penelope Sycamore Mindi Gowers     Director  Marilyn Gunderson
Essie Chelsea Bennett     Props  Sheri Hopper, Gloria Law, Harlow Shaw
Rheba Rachel Cossel     Costumes  Bobbi Carlson, Malinda Gunderson, Marilyn Gunderson
Paul Sycamore Brice Allen     Set design  Mackay Dufour
Mr. De Penna Steve Allison     Set decor  Malinda Gunderson, Marilyn Gunderson, Steve Allison
Ed Blake Berry       
Donald  Spencer Williams       
Martin Vanderhof (Grandpa) Bob Brady       
Alice Charissa Dufour       
Henderson Janice DeBoer      
Tony Kirby Travis McKnight      
Kolenkhov Malinda Gunderson      
Gay Wellington Janeil Pluim      
Mr. Kirby Rich Durrington      
Mrs. Kirby Lisa Mathot      
The J Man Ben Gowers      
Mac Jonathan Perry      
Jim Janice DeBoer      
Grand Duchess Olga Jenna Sorensen